top of page
  • Iris Konstant

Plain White T’s at Exit/In

When: June 20th, 2018

Where: Exit/In


1. Light Up the Room

2. Bonnie, I Want You

3. 1, 2, 3, 4

4. Land of the Living

5. All That We Needed

6. Your Body

7. Top of the World

8. Never Working

9. The Giving Tree

10. Talking in Your Sleep [Cover of The Romantics]

11. Hate (I Really Don’t Like You)

12. Bury Me

13. Rhythm of Love

14. End of the World


Hey There Delilah

Our Time Now

Concert season is in full swing and with a number of bands vying for fans’ attention at headlining tours and festival appearances; the main question becomes “Who should I go see?” Well, if the Plain White T’s have managed to evade your radar of “must-go” concerts then let me inform you of this, you’re missing out. As the Plain White T’s have returned to music and performance with an energetic zeal; all thanks to their upcoming release Parallel Universe out August 24th via Fearless Records.

Starting in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, the Plain White T’s have been travelling across the Midwest and Eastern US in support of their aforementioned upcoming release. On their current tour, I managed to catch up with them in Nashville, Tennessee, at Exit/In; a legendary dive bar known for hosting acts such as Taking Back Sunday and The Rocket Summer.

However, on this go-round Exit/In was host to newcomers Ocean Park Standoff and Fairview, who emphasized the power of music with their [Fairview’s] song “Put It On.” Which highlighted how music is “unlike anything else” and has the power to affect emotions and moods; which was seen later on once Ocean Park Standoff took the stage. As Ocean Park Standoff managed to get the crowd at Exit/In moving and grooving to their high energy antics and cheery anthemic songs like “Lost Boys.”

Amongst the dancing and jovial attitude, the Plain White T’s took the stage to fanfare and chanting; from a crowd that was filled to the brim with eager anticipation to hear old and new songs alike. June 20th’s set list catered to just that; a mixture of new and old, as half of the set was from their newest release Parallel Universe, while the other seven songs were from older releases.

As the Plain White T’s blended nouveau with classical, tales emerged which served to illuminate the history behind one of the largest bands of the 2000’s. Tom Higgenson, the lead singer of the Plain White T’s verbally took attendees through the rise of PWT; starting by describing the band’s seemingly overnight success with their first radio hit “Hate (I Really Don’t Like You).” However, just as time passes Higgenson also slowly began to shift from the band’s illustrious history to a new narrative. The new Plain White T’s. Where infectious dance music abounds in each track and where songs like “Bury Me” were written just miles away from the modest glass doors of Exit/In.

Plain White T's

Ocean Park Standoff


bottom of page